Saturday, February 26, 2011

Outlander Series

I'm going to take a small break from showing projects and tell you about a series of books that I absolutely adore! Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series of seven books so far just makes my heart skip a beat!

If you enjoy the first book you must keep going. The characters develop with even more intensity and new ones come to life. Each book continues the lives and trials of James and Clare Fraser. This mix of Sci-Fi historical and romance is thrilling. Diana's gift for bringing words to life so you can imagine smells, colors, fear, anticipation and love is amazing! Her deep historical study of life in 1740's Scotland to the 1940's is brilliant. She is not afraid of writing about the horrors of life in prison during war, some parts which may shock you. Life back then was definitely different then it is now, so many hardships and personal struggles that none of us today would ever dream of having to live through. I give this series a 5 star rating absolutely wonderful!

List of books in order
Dragonfly in Amber
Drums of Autumn
The Fiery Cross
A Breath of Snow and Ashes
An Echo in the Bone

You can read in Diana's own words about her descriptions of the books here.

Have a great Saturday!

1 comment:

  1. I am always on the lookout for a good Sci-fi, thriller book. I will give one a try. Thank you for sharing! By the way, I have a contest giveaway on my blog you might find fun. Take a look.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...